Dodo Says

The Phone Number (2)

Posted on: May 3, 2010

Omar rushed to get to his friend. After hearing  all the details about what has happened, he asked Wasseem “So, what will you do now?”

“I wish I listened to mom and saved some money. I have to start searching for work, nothing else. I really need to find a part-time job. Since my university fees are covered, don’t have much to worry about. But I do have to ask my parents for pocket-money to go out with my friends!!!” (laughs) “Can you imagine that!!!”

“Hey, it’s not the end of the world. Calm down. It’s just a part-time job. You have expenses, right; but you don’t have responsibilities, be thankful for that. You’ll find something else. It might take time, I know. I am sure your parents won’t leave you alone, neither will I.”

” Hey, hey, where are you going? Drop me home”

“No. We have a project to work on, we need about an hour to finalize it, and then when the boys leave we’ll search online for available job position.”

Wasseem searched and applied to different positions. But it wasn’t an easy task. Months passed and still job-less.  He had to go for a “simple life”. He didn’t go out with his friends so much. Noor was upset at the fact that they don’t get out as often as they did before, and let’s face it, she met someone else, a more handsome and a rich guy with a Ferrari!!! So, Noor wasn’t “the one” for him.

Things were getting worse. His parents are now paying for his phone bills. Well, Wasseem can’t take it anymore, for that he decided to sell his phone number.

After a week phone-less, he really missed his phone ringing, or him calling someone. He thought to himself “who could be the one that bought it? Is he as cool as I am?”

He decided to call out of curiosity. He headed to the phone booth in the university and dialled 03-xyzzyx

“Hello?” replied a nice female voice.

“Hello” Wasseem answered, “Well, umm, I really don’t know what to say. Umm, ok, my name is Wasseem and I used to own this phone number. I ..”

“Oh, you’re the famous Wasseem. I keep getting phone calls asking for Wasseem. What, do you want it back?”

“No, no. I just wanted to make sure it’s in safe hands, now I know it is cause your voice is so friendly.”

She hung up.

“Wow, what a haughty girl”

But Wasseem couldn’t forget her voice. He liked her voice. Next day he decided to call her back.

“Hello, I work for a statistics company. May I ask you few questions?”

“Wasseem stop calling me.”

She hung up again.

“Woow, she recognized my voice and called me by my name. Anyway what was I thinking. Meeting someone on the phone. What a lame idea!! Did I really expect her to have a conversation with me, a total stranger? Hmm, I am really out of my mind.”

And so Wasseem tried to forget it.

Few months before graduation he got the job at the newspaper where he always wished to work. It was a part-time job until he graduates, and then he’ll be a full-time journalist.

See you next week!!!

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

Categories

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 21 other followers

Flag Counter

free counters
